Click to view map
August 16, 2017 @ 12:00 pm – 1:30 pm
Pacific Beach Hotel
2490 Kalakaua Ave
Honolulu, HI 96815
$20.00 Lunch and free parking
Linda Collard, Executive Director

Gene Ward

Topic: North Korea

About Gene

17th Representative District
Hawaii State Capitol, Room 318
415 South Beretania Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
phone 808-586-6420; fax 808-586-6421




Spouse: Faredah nee Shamsudin
Daughter: Johanna


Hawaii State Legislature

Minority Leader Emeritus: Gene served in the House from 1990-98. His colleagues elected him Minority Leader (1993-1997, 2011-2012).
Vice Chair, Committee on Economic Development & Business
Co-Founder Small Business Caucus: Co-founder with Rep. David Stegmaier


Hawaii Kai Neighborhood Board

Chair Transportation Committee


Senior Democracy Advisor

Served in USAID Office of Democracy and Governance and promoted democracy throughout the world after writing text on the ills of campaign finance for developing countries.


Peace Corps Country Director

Supervised the humanitarian efforts 46 Peace Corps Volunteers, 18 staff and $1 million budget in East Timor.


Small Business Development Specialist

Founded with Dr. George Kanahele the Hawaii Entrepreneurship Training & Development Institute and trained 3,000 young people in Hawaii and overseas to start their own business.


Vietnam Veteran

Served as Translator-Interpreter in Vietnam


PH.D. University of Hawaii

Completed dissertation on the values and attitudes of Hawaiians entering and succeeding in business. Gene has taught at Chaminade and HPU as an Adjunct Professor


East-West Center

Member, Board of Governors (2010-2011)



He has written a number of articles about business and politics and recently authored a text on campaign finance and a Commentary for the Honolulu Advertiser: “Money in Politics” published by USAID in English & Spanish,, and “East Timor”,


Hawaii-Indonesia Chamber of Commerce

Member, Board of Directors



Jogging; learning new languages; (speak Malay, Indonesian, and Vietnamese)



Elected to the House: 1990 – 1998, 2006 – Present


Member of the Republican party.


Member of the following committees:

EDB – Economic Development & Business
AGR – Agriculture
TOU – Tourism
FIN – Finance